Greg Tivis - Piano + CD Greg Tivis - In The Hip Pocket CD Kelsey Taylor / Greg Tivis Trio - Beginning To See The Light
Beginning To See The Light

Kelsey Taylor - Beginning To See The Light


Our latest album showcases an up and coming talent who is sure to win your heart over, Kelsey Taylor. Her style, charisma, and rich alto voice blended with the polished sound of the piano trio creates a masterful piece of musical artwork. The song selections are some of the greatest classics from the Great American Songbook.

Liner Notes

As the saying goes, life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans—and my plans had nothing to do with being recorded while bearing my soul to music. But, it couldn’t be helped. I fell in love. Jazz music has entered my life, and I have no choice but to simply consider how, not if, it will change me. As I continue to learn more about this exciting musical genre, I now understand why its songs are called “standards.” Their timeless ability to captivate audiences is reinforced as each new generation takes possession of them. I am honored to be allowed to carry this “torch” for a while. I would like to thank my husband Chris for being who he is, Greg and Margaret Tivis for their love and friendship, all the talented musicians who worked on this project, and of course, our small but loyal fan base for their support.
Who knows where music will take me from here? I only know for certain that I am just beginning to see the light. . . . . ~ Kelsey Taylor

Making an album is always exciting, always exhilarating, always lots of fun, but this particular project was all that and more! The combination of Kelsey’s magical charm, her rich alto voice, her perfect enunciation, her flowing phrases, and the level of emotion she pours into each number all add up to make a great singer. Add that to the polished sound of a piano trio that’s been together for over 15 years and you’ve got a great sounding album. As usual bassist Ron White and percussionist Dennis Germenis provided a very solid musical foundation that was locked in from the start, as well as playing great solos on several numbers. Another good friend, Richard Kent, laid down a swinging tenor sax solo on one of the tracks. Engineer Steve Carr was a blast to work with and a real professional. He also did a fine job on bass on two of the songs. It was an uplifting session! The song selections are some of the greatest classics from the Great American Songbook, with a couple of jazz numbers thrown in for good measure. One of the tunes, A Sleepin’ Bee, is a Broadway tune done in a jazz style. The album really flows through a nice mixture of contrasting styles and tempos, while the music and vocals draw you into them. In Quiet Nights the native lyrics and latin rhythms will take you to Brazil, then its off to Paris for La vei en Rose. Moon River will touch your heart, Beyond the Sea will bring a smile, and so it goes. There’s something special about every song on this album, and it keeps getting better to the end. So pour the wine, dim the lights, and just let the music wash over you. Your soul will thank you.

~ Greg Tivis


Kelsey Taylor, vocals
Greg Tivis, piano
Ron White, bass
Dennis Germenis, drums
Richard Kent, tenor saxophone
Steve Carr, bass on tracks 2 & 5


  1. I’m Beginning to See the Light
  2. Quiet Nights (Corcovado)
  3. Moon River
  4. La Vie en Rose
  5. The Way You Look Tonight
  6. Cry Me a River
  7. A Sleepin’ Bee
  8. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
  9. Beyond the Sea
  10. The Shadow of Your Smile
  11. The Blues in the Night
  12. Medley: Smile/When You Wish Upon a Star

"The vocals of Kelsey Taylor accompanied by the Greg Tivis Trio is simply amazing. These guys swing, and they swing hard!"
- Steve Carr, Righteous Rain   Productions, Wheelock, TX

Read the Greg Tivis Blog

Greg Tivis - Facebook Greg Tivis - Twitter Home | About | Buy CDs | News Blog | Calendar | Gallery | Reviews | Media Kit | Press Releases | Links | Articles | Booking
Copyright © 2008-2018 Greg Tivis | site map | Contact