Greg Tivis - Piano + CD Greg Tivis - In The Hip Pocket CD Kelsey Taylor / Greg Tivis Trio - Beginning To See The Light
In The Hip Pocket

Greg Tivis - In The Hip Pocket


This recording was inspired by my experiences performing aboard the grandest of all steamboats, the Mississippi Queen and its newest sister ship, the American Queen. This album gives you a real taste of New Orleans Dixieland Jazz, with a few of my favorite standards thrown in for contrast.

Liner Notes

In a Mellow Tone - This Duke Ellington Classic has always been one of my favorites. We recorded it first to set the mood for the session.

Out of Nowhere - Another classic we all love and hope you do too.

Poor Butterfly - This beautiful ballad is for my very good friends, Gus Ellis and Irene Shelton. Thanks for your kindness and devotion to good music.

St. Louis Blues - Here’s our take on an old favorite, we had a great time on this one and you can feel it!

Do You Know What it Means / Way Down Wonder - Dixieland is the cornerstone of Jazz. These next three cuts take you back to a great era in American music, beginning with a medley of two favorites.

Basin St. Blues - My good friend Mike Brumbaugh sings and plays trombone on this one. You’re going to love this! This cat swings!

Bourbon St. Parade - We pull out all the stops on this barnstormer, it’ll make you feel like you’re there!

What’ll I Do - This one has been done by so many before, but I love its haunting melody.

Stella by Starlight - This guitar/bass duo features Skot Jakubiec and Ron White. Great job guys!

When My Sugar Walks Down the Street - This one’s for my “sugar,” Margaret, you’re the greatest!

The final cut is simply called C Jam Blues because that’s exactly what it is, a jam in C, and what a jam it is!

Thanks to all my friends and family who helped make this recording possible, especially my wife Margaret, your love and support is my inspiration.

Special thanks to Wink Tyler at Austin Recording Studios, you are very gifted at what you do.

~ Greg Tivis


Greg Tivis, piano, trumpet, and vocals
Skot Jacubiec, guitar
Ron White, bass
Dennis Germenis, drums
Special Guest: Mike Brumbaugh
           trombone and vocals


  1. In a Mellow Tone
  2. Out of Nowhere
  3. Poor Butterfly
  4. St. Louis Blues
  5. Medley: Do You Know What it Means to miss New Orleans/Way Down Yonder (in New Orleans)
  6. Basin Street Blues
  7. Bourbon Street Parade
  8. What’ll I Do
  9. Stella By Starlight
  10. When My Sugar Walks Down the Street
  11. C Jam Blues

Read the Greg Tivis Blog

Greg Tivis - Facebook Greg Tivis - Twitter Home | About | Buy CDs | News Blog | Calendar | Gallery | Reviews | Media Kit | Press Releases | Links | Articles | Booking
Copyright © 2008-2018 Greg Tivis | site map | Contact